User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Name
    JT
    Location
    Long Beach
    Posts
    503
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Apex salinity prob Calibration

    I set up this new apex but I'm not sure if my salinity calibrated properly. Do the readings in the photo look correct? My refractometer reads 1.26


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Contributing Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Name
    james
    Location
    92804
    Posts
    3,192
    Mentioned
    73 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

  3. #3
    Contributing Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Name
    jose beltran
    Location
    bellflower
    Posts
    1,280
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JT_W View Post
    I set up this new apex but I'm not sure if my salinity calibrated properly. Do the readings in the photo look correct? My refractometer reads 1.26


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I
    It's ok I think refractometer it's reading 1.26 is the specific gravity
    And the apex probe reading the total of solid in the water
    Just my opinion maybe someone has a better answer

  4. #4
    #Getatanklowbudget BeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Name
    Bean
    Location
    Tustin, CA
    Posts
    18,635
    Mentioned
    264 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Default

    Its not correct unless your running a cichlid tank.
    Reef-A-Palooza CA - November 19th & 20th 2016

    SCMAS / SCRK / IEMAS / LARS / MASLAC = Club Junky #HobbitLivesMatter

    300 Gallon 72x36x27 AGE- 60" 8 Lamp ATI LED PowerModule- AA PVC Hybrid Sump- AquaMaxx CO5- Apex- Wrasse Lover

  5. #5
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Name
    JT
    Location
    Long Beach
    Posts
    503
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ok thanks guys. Going to recalibrate again. May just end up disabling this probe. Seems to be more inaccurate vs accurate


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Name
    Borg
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    I had the same issues as you're dealing with. Then i added a temp probe and i finally was able to calibrate correctly and have it stay accurate.

    However, i do think its still a "nice to have" in case something goes wrong with your ATO or something.

  7. #7
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Name
    Mike
    Location
    Garden Grove
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If you have one it's worth the trouble to get it calibrated correctly. You can use it to notify you if your salinity gets too high or low, keep your ATO pump from turning on if the salinity does drop too low. They are sensitive to outside electrical interference, so try to keep the probe away from motors and power cords and the wire away from other power cords.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •