User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Name
    Dave B
    Location
    Encino
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default If You Have An Apex -- Please Double Check Your Changes

    Hey Guys,

    If you have an Apex and are using Fusion (for sure Fusion not sure about classic) check your settings, and then double check and triple check.

    When they updated Fusion recently it changed my 220v heater outlet to a CO2 outlet.

    It also changed the alarm points for 2 of my pH probes to 10.99

    When I discovered the errors I made the corrections and told Fusion to update. The little bar went across the screen and turned Green - No Errors.

    But then it turns out it was still set to 10.99 -

    It took 6 cycles -- WITHOUT ANY ERRORS before the issue corrected.

    Also in the past 6 weeks, my Apex no longer registers the power being out to the EB8's

    Then yesterday someone else contacted me - There DOS units were set to be dosing 22ml of one channel and 12ml on another channel.

    One of the channels was set to 750ml and the other 75.

    A totally different Apex - at a different location - again took multiple cycles of correcting the doses with Fusion accepting it but still not correcting the erroneous value.

    These are some pretty catastrophic issues. Please be careful - If you make any adjustments to any of your settings - pH, dosing, temp values for your heaters -- go double check them.

    And if you find something wrong.... Make the correction and keep double checking that the correction takes hold. And if you find a hiccup and you get it corrected go back and check again 30 mins later just to be sure.


    And just for the heck of it, after reading this post take some time and check that all your outlets are still set correctly - Make sure that your heater is using the right probe for temp. Make sure your heater outlet is still set as a heater outlet. And other outlets as well.


    Dave B

  2. Thanks Smite thanked for this post
  3. #2
    Premium Member lowbudget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Name
    LowBaller
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    21,731
    Mentioned
    272 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Did they do an over the air update. Or you did a firmware update?
    Quote Originally Posted by lurking View Post
    He says your pictures suck
    Quote Originally Posted by wickedfish View Post
    Yep I love big wieners just like Schnitzel

  4. #3
    Wrasse Wisperer
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Name
    Ben
    Location
    San Luis Obispo
    Posts
    204
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I cant be sure, but I think a similar situation happened to me. Without any re-programming on my part, my Apex recently deactivated its CARX CO2 probe, which sent the calcium reactor into a tailspin, and then some limits were switched.

    I thought it might be a faulty display unit sending bad signals, but thats a lot of incorrect signals to send

    Luckily I had a backup saved of the programming, so I was able to revert to it and save the day, but yeah, no bueno.

  5. #4
    Moderator innerspark's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Name
    Mike
    Location
    RSM
    Posts
    1,843
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    One system to control them all is not always a great idea. Glad my doser is controlled separately in this case and the only real issue would be circulation and ATO on my situation. Thankfully I've got fail safes. Did you try contacting Neptune Systems about this?
    Mike
    Pico² Reef | 50 SPS² | 75g SPS - Down


  6. #5
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Name
    Dave B
    Location
    Encino
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Innerspark,

    I contacted Neptune about these issues weeks ago. They didn't have an answer. When I found out it wasn't just my Apex and others were having the same exact issues I posted on several forums.

    Neptune immediately contacted me to setup a phone tech support session - But they haven't had time available yet.

    Dave B

  7. #6
    Contributing Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Name
    Damian
    Location
    Rancho Cucamonga
    Posts
    5,499
    Mentioned
    113 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)

    Default

    Which Apex or which firmware?

    I just bought a Finnex heater without controller and I'm concerned. My Eheim will at least shut itself off at a set temperature if my apex outlet stays on.
    48x30x24 150g LeeMar: 48" ATI LED Powermodule, 2 MP40's, Bubble King Double Cone 200, Korallin C1502 Calcium Reactor, 3 NextReef Reactors, Apex

  8. #7
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    537
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have apex for year but I only use it for the light and skimmer and main pump heater plug in but they have a temosthat each one everything lease like dosing pump and calcium reactor ATO run in there on controllers I had a apex going crazy on me and I lost almost everything in my tank and about 500+ baby clownfish from that day I don't trust a single controller to control the most sensitive things for my reeftanktank it does sounds good at one point to have everything controlled by one thing but when that controller goes crazy you will too either trying to fix the problem or because all the fatalities in your tank

  9. Likes tofucube liked this post
  10. #8
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Name
    Dave B
    Location
    Encino
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    My Apex is the most current Firmware release 4.40_3A16

    The Apex with the DOS dosing errors is also the most current release.

    Dave B

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •