User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Name
    Ty
    Location
    Fontana
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Calcium Reactor Effluent line slows down

    I was wondering if anyone can help me with this. My Aquamaxx CaRx, the C-Tech 1, seems to slow down after about two or three days. The output is going directly in to the tank. Any ideas or suggestions? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Moderator solitude127's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Name
    Mike
    Location
    Torrance
    Posts
    6,825
    Mentioned
    81 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    what are you using to feed the reactor?
    60*30*20, 8x54 ATI Powermodule, ReefBrite XHO, ATB Elegance 200, Ecotech Vortechs, Apex Controls, WM Ecobak powered. 30G nano, MP10, Apex Jr, Ecotech Radion XR15

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Name
    Ty
    Location
    Fontana
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Manifold off my return pipe. I have the flow from the manifold turned down pretty low.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Contributing Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Name
    Ev'e
    Location
    Fontana
    Posts
    2,896
    Mentioned
    30 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Mine does that too until it eventually stops. I think its where the needle valve is located. I'm moving mine to the sump to see if that helps

  5. #5
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Name
    Ty
    Location
    Fontana
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    That’s what I was thinking. Leaving the included pinch valve on the CaRx fully open and installing a needle valve inside the sump where the effluent line ends.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Premium Member Mr V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Name
    V
    Location
    Buena Park
    Posts
    725
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    That’s the reason why some people are setting the constant flow instead of dripping.

  7. #7
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Name
    Ty
    Location
    Fontana
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    My fear is if I do that wouldn’t my alk raise too much and too fast.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Name
    Heisenberg Say it!
    Location
    Corona Ca
    Posts
    513
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You have 2 options.

    Option one: constantly dick with it
    Option two: buy a masterflex

  9. #9
    Premium Member Mr V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Name
    V
    Location
    Buena Park
    Posts
    725
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kain View Post
    My fear is if I do that wouldn’t my alk raise too much and too fast.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    No if you control the pH inside the chambers.

  10. #10
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Name
    Ty
    Location
    Fontana
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Currently I have the pH set to a range of 6.85 and 6.75. I can raise it.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Contributing Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Name
    Ray
    Location
    Escondido, CA
    Posts
    1,028
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Use the constant flow method. The video is on YouTube somewhere and a it's a lot easier than counting drops and measuring effluent PH.

  12. #12
    Contributing Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Name
    Ev'e
    Location
    Fontana
    Posts
    2,896
    Mentioned
    30 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Did you ever figure it out? My problem was with the needle valve. I ended up using a 1 dollar airline valve and all my issues where solved.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

  13. Likes joseserrano liked this post
  14. #13
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Name
    Ty
    Location
    Fontana
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Where did you install it? I’m still adjusting mine.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  15. #14
    Contributing Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Name
    jose Serrano
    Location
    Santa Ana/Tustin
    Posts
    1,494
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    That's pretty high ph to be melting the media at, so I don't think running it fully open would be a good option. I would do a pinch valve or needle valve near the water enters the sump. Have it raised a few inches if not more above water level to also help with salt creep

  16. #15
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Name
    Ty
    Location
    Fontana
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I just ordered a needle valve. Let’s see if that helps.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •